From a Bridesmaid to the Groom

Dear Justin,

Don’t worry.  This isn’t going to be a “you hurt her, I hurt you” kind of thing.  I love your bride-to-be dearly, but I think we’re beyond that.

And let’s be honest, I don’t present much of an imposing figure.

I just thought we could talk about something we both love before the Big Day.

You know, you’re bride-to-be.

As you probably know, Jillian is one of my favorite people.  I am so grateful to have such a fierce, loyal, loving, smart and fun person in my life.  I am so lucky to have someone that gets me like Jill does.

Real friends can climb trees together.I was thinking, as I started writing this, about the day you told Josh and me you had the ring.  I begged you to propose that day, as soon as we got out of the car at the lake in Ohio.

Selfish, I know, but I knew I would be moving back to Colorado in a few weeks, I wanted to see that ring on her hand, be there for the champagne toasts, if not the dress fittings and seating arrangements.

Needless to say, you didn’t propose that day.   I’m still a little bitter.

The day you didn't propose.Ultimately, though, I forgive you.  And not because you’re this “great guy” (which you are) and not because you make a mean drink (which you do), but for one reason will I forgive you almost anything: you “get” my wonderful friend. And not only do you get Jill, you know how lucky you are that she gets you.

Seriously?  How lucky are we that we can say that about someone like her?

Do you remember that lunch the three of us had at Binkley’s when you and Jill first started dating?

Jill excused herself to the bathroom and I leaned over to you and said (more or less), “Here’s the thing about Jill – she can be a little crazy.  But she’s totally worth it.”  I loved that you didn’t need me to explain, that I wasn’t being mean, that this was the kind of thing that you knew that Jill wasn’t, in fact, crazy, and that she is totally worth it.

This was the moment that confirmed what I, along with the rest of the bridal party from what I’ve been reading, had long suspected:  that Jillian had found a man that was up to the challenges, and deserving of the rewards that come with loving her, a man that would offer his own challenges and rewards.  That you two “get” each other.

I couldn’t ask for anything more for a friend that means as much to me as Jill does.

I am so incredibly happy that Jillian found someone who “gets” her.  And selfishly, I’m really glad the person that gets her is one that I enjoy being around.

Thank you, Justin, for being someone that makes my friend happy.  I am honored to be a part of this special day, but more importantly, to be a part of your life together.

Congratulations!!!

XO

-Denver

Leave a Reply

