Guest Blogger: Orlando

Let me start this “guest” entry by saying I am honored to be a part of such a special event.  I am “Orlando” in case any of you were wondering and ever since my friend got married two years ago and I got to be a bridesmaid, I have had this fascination with weddings.   I have cried at every wedding since that point (including my own, where I was a blubbering mess) and get giddy just walking into a bridal salon.  Let’s just say, I love love.  I do.  I was lucky enough to marry my best friend this past May and I couldn’t have asked for anything more.  Having all my best friends standing up there with me, well it was wonderful.  However, there was a time that I thought my side might be a little less populated.

Let me explain…I am a guy’s girl.  Well at least I think I am.  My best friends in HS and college were mostly guys and besides my two besties from Miami (of Ohio University), I was a little fearful that I would never meet that core group of girlfriends here in Indy that one needs to get through the ups and downs that life hands to us.  So after joining the Guys and Dolls Auction for Cystic Fibrosis, I was pleasantly surprised that well, yes, I could be friends with girls, they really do like me and, in fact, they are amazing. 🙂  Amongst these ladies is our bride- to-be.  She and I didn’t really start off on the right foot however, she took some convincing that I was AH-MAH-ZING and while I can’t speak for her, I am damn glad she gave me a chance.

Now, 5 plus years later, I get to be her matron of honor.  Enough said.

As I previously mentioned, I love weddings.  This whole Matron of Honor (I would drop the matron if I could) thing is so great.   However, I got to be honest…I am terrified of this speech.  For those of you that know me, this may come as a surprise, but I have not one, but two of them to write this year.  Each are equally special and each have a different meaning to me, but for both, it’s imperative that I NAIL it. I’m in PR people.  I have written dozens of letters, press releases, a speech or two, my vows and even a Match.com profile for another pal and yet this Matron of Honor speech is beyond my realm.

I suppose one day it will come to me though.  Jillian says she is still searching for her voice for this blog, I guess I am still searching for the words to tell one of my favorite people in the world how much she means to me and how happy I am for she and Justin.  Easy right?  Um ya.

Like I said earlier, I love love. I love these two kids and for the time being, I think those words are just enough.

2 thoughts on “Guest Blogger: Orlando

Leave a Reply

